Zucchini Muffins

Cover of "The Gluten-Free Gourmet: Living...

Cover via Amazon

I could have sworn I discussed previously about Bette Hagman’s Zucchini Muffins.

I used to make my sister-in-law’s recipe for zucchini bread. It includes a LOT of oil but also orange juice concentrate. It is moist and oh, so goooooood.

Well, now that I’m older and having trouble keeping oils and sugars from showing up on my hips, I made Bette’s Zucchini Muffins recipe as is–with one wonderful alteration–I added dk. chocolate morsels!

Bette’s recipe from “The Gluten-Free Gourmet” doesn’t have much sugar (good for diabetics) and very little oil (3T) and my first try was good, but they were mildly dry. I made some notes on the recipe to add additional zucchini.

Today, I made the muffins again. not only did I have a heaping cup of zucchini, I added an extra egg white, added 1/2t xanthan gum where she doesn’t include any in the recipe and added 1T of vegetable oil. All I have to say it, “Let’s PARTY”! The muffins with my alterations are moist and taste WONDERFUL.

So, here’s Bette’s recipe with MY alterations:

1/3 C sugar (heaped)

2 eggs + 1 egg white

4 T vegetable oil (I used MCT oil)

1 C GF flour mixture

1 t baking powder

3/4 t salt

1/2 t xanthan gum

1/2 t baking soda

1/2 t cinnamon

just under 1/2 t nutmeg

1 C grated zucchini (heaping)

1/4 C raisins (optional)

1/4 C chopped walnuts (optional)

1/3 C dk chocolate morsels (not optional!)

Beat together the sugar, eggs and oil.

Combine the flour, baking powder, salt, baking soda, xanthan gum, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Stir these into the sugar mixture. Stir in the zucchini, raisins, nuts and morsels.

Grease muffin tins and spoon in batter to two-thirds full. Bake in preheated 400 degree oven for 20 minutes. Makes 10-12 muffins.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jung
    Apr 25, 2013 @ 22:16:35

    Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.

    Nonetheless, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be book-marking
    and checking back frequently!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

