Dangerous Grains book review: Part 2

dangerous grains

The author, James Braly, states in the first chapter, “…gluten grains,…lack many of the nutrients we need.”

Braly also purports that since the introduction of grains into our diet, our brains are smaller, bones weaker and our stature shorter. This first chapter is about natural selection of the human race and grains. He gives reasons for our ancestors becoming agrarian, discusses genetics, celiac disease and gluten sensitivity symptoms that don’t show up until later in life; after child-bearing years so our “species” can continue. If grains/gluten were really toxic to our bodies, we humans wouldn’t live long enough to reproduce.

“Some individuals produce a liver enzyme capable of digesting gluten, many do not. For the many who lack these digestive enzymes, grains need much more processing than the foods that are common to a hunter-gatherer’s diet.”

Wait a minute. I remember being told that red meat is difficult to digest. I guess it’s the Chick-fil-A cows telling us this!

“Dairy and gluten-grain products combine to make up the top six foods we now eat. Yet, cows’ milk and wheat are two of the most commonly reported allergens in the world. With individuals genetically predisposed to food allergies and gluten sensitivities, eating these same non-ancestral, genetically incompatible foods in large quantities day in and day out, is it any wonder that so many people suffer from chronic food sensitivities?”

It seems I stopped here to look up my medicines to see if they are gluten free. Braly told a story about a man who was told to eat gluten-free and he got better for a little while, but then his health started deteriorating rapidly. It took quite a while but a doctor finally figured out that he was being glutened by his medicines. Seven out of the 11 drugs he was taking contained gluten! So, obviously I wanted to see if I might be glutened by my drugs, vitamins or supplements.

I found two web sites that list medicines and supplements (some) that are gluten free unless otherwise stated. Out of all my drugs, vitamins and supplements I found most in these two lists, but still had to do a Google search for a couple generics to see if they are gluten free. Here are the two web sites:

www.glutenfreedrugs.com/list.htm

www.celiac-disease.com/medications

“Gluten grains are a leading cause of many ailments. Avoiding gluten prevents and often reverses these diseases.

Should you passively wait for the signs and symptoms to arrive before taking action?”

Braly now posits 15 questions for us to ask ourselves; now rather than later. The questions range from: Is anyone in your family diagnosed with celiac or gluten-sensitivity? anyone have type 1 diabetes? thyroid disease? eating habits? do you get bloated? severe cramping? have anxiety or depression? problems sleeping? and on….

Dangerous Grains seems to leave no stone unturned. In his questioning of family illness and eating/sleeping habits, Braly seems to say that just about all of us would fit into having possible gluten-sensitivity.

My husband keeps telling me that gluten isn’t the big, horrible scourge these doctors portray–BUT–what if it is? He’s losing weight without trying, his blood glucose numbers are down near non-diabetic numbers. Seems to me, he’s benefiting from not eating gluten.

Chapter four goes into all the possible tests for gluten sensitivity. My own doctor has done many of them, and they are either negative or normal. So, he doesn’t believe I have a gluten problem. Tell that to my body that handles stress and anxiety better and more clearly!

Braly suggests tests for genetic markers, small intestine biopsy, gluten challenge, sugar-absorption test for leaky gut, blood testing for antibodies. Oh my favorite test–rectal challenge! It involves a gluten slurry, and you don’t drink it–oh my!!!

Once you’ve been diagnosed as gluten sensitive, Dr. Braly suggests counseling. “Dietary exclusion of gluten not only involves battling the physical and psychological facets of this experience, but also requires coming to terms with the socially excluding nature of this diet.

He also suggests joining a celiac support group, bone density testing, glucose-tolerance and liver-function testing. He even has some nutrition cautions: desensitization theraphy (like being desensitized for environmental allergies), making sure you are totally gluten free and not getting “glutened” in small doses like in your soy sauce, medicines, twizzlers or Rice Krispies–yep, the blue box is a no-no. Kellogg’s now has a gluten-free YELLOW box of brown rice Rice Krispies.

Braly also warns against eating fried foods. Apparently, oil heated over and over again converts to pro-inflammatory cancer-causing substances. He suggests we include a liberal amount of omega 3, 6, 9 fatty acids every day. Omega 3s are fish, flax and walnut oils. Omega 9s are found in extra virgin olive oil and Omega 6s have a limited intake from vegetable and seed oils. He also suggests we broaden our meat intake to include Bambi, buffalo, rabbit, duck, goose, pheasant, quail–oh, and don’t forget–we must eat the animal’s organs (liver, heart, pancreas and bone marrow weekly–count me OUT!

Braly is a spoil-sport. He doesn’t want us eating the same foods every day, says we’ll develop sensitivities to these new foods. I’ve heard this before. I believe I asked a nutritionist about that and so have conflicting opinions. I personally change up my most favorite grains like rice, oats, and whatever is in Sunshine Crunchy Vanilla cereal. It’s hard enough to eat gluten free without making it harder by worrying about becoming sensitive to the new stuff. I’ll take my chances. Unless, of course, Braly wants to hire a live-in cook for me–OH YEAH ๐Ÿ™‚

Supplements are Braly’s next topic. He named magnesium, calcium, selenium, potassium, B-vitamins, possibly iron, and vitamins A, E & D.

Next, Braly discusses hidden hazards like sharing your toaster with a gluten-eater, don’t share the same butter or peanut butter container, bulk bins are not gluten-friendly because some people use the same scoop in several different bins. Oh, my head is swimming!

I’ve had enough for tonight. We’ve gotten through five chapters, which is close to half the book. We’re definitely making progress ๐Ÿ™‚

I don’t know why this book review is different than my other reviews unless I just believe, this particular book has a lot of important things to say and so far, seems to be my favorite.

I will finish my review on the next post.

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. 173.242.124.212
    Jun 11, 2014 @ 07:41:26

    My brother recommended I might like tthis blog. He waas ntirely right.
    Thiis posxt truly made myy day. Yoou can nott
    imagine just hhow muh time I had spesnt for thiis info!

    Thanks!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Buy Xtrasize
    Aug 06, 2013 @ 02:22:11

    Aw, this was an incredibly nice post. Spending some time and actual effort to produce a top notch articleโ€ฆ but what can I
    sayโ€ฆ I put things off a lot and never seem to get anything done.

    Like

    Reply

  3. pearl x
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 07:44:43

    Appreciate this post. Will try it out.

    Like

    Reply

  4. raspberry ketones
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 04:44:58

    Hi! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone 3gs! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts! Carry on the fantastic work!

    Like

    Reply

  5. e cigarette sale
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 23:41:15

    Very shortly this website will be famous among all blog people, due to it’s good content

    Like

    Reply

  6. Reverge
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 08:09:43

    I do not know whether it’s just me or if everyone else experiencing problems with your website. It appears as if some of the text on your content are running off the screen. Can somebody else please comment and let me know if this is happening to them too? This might be a issue with my web browser because I’ve had this happen before.
    Appreciate it

    Reverge

    Like

    Reply

  7. Beta Force Muscle
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 03:05:04

    Definitely believe that which you stated. Your favorite reason appeared to be on the net
    the easiest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I definitely get irked while people
    consider worries that they just do not know about. You managed to hit
    the nail upon the top and defined out the whole thing
    without having side effect , people could take a
    signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

    Beta Force Muscle

    Like

    Reply

  8. Orlando SEO Companies
    Aug 01, 2013 @ 20:19:32

    My brother suggested I might like this web site.
    He was totally right. This post truly made my day. You cann’t imagine simply how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

    Like

    Reply

  9. green coffee
    Aug 01, 2013 @ 01:47:10

    I’m excited to find this web site. I wanted to thank you for your time due to this fantastic read!! I definitely really liked every little bit of it and I have you book-marked to see new things in your website.

    Like

    Reply

  10. wrinkle cream
    Jul 28, 2013 @ 01:23:44

    Excellent post. I used to be checking continuously this weblog and I’m inspired! Very helpful info specifically the ultimate phase ๐Ÿ™‚ I handle such info much. I used to be seeking this certain information for a very long time. Thank you and best of luck.

    Like

    Reply

  11. legitimate online jobs
    Jul 27, 2013 @ 20:05:05

    Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to mention that
    I have truly enjoyed browsing your blog posts.
    In any case I will be subscribing on your feed and I
    am hoping you write once more soon!

    Like

    Reply

  12. amnio prime
    Jul 24, 2013 @ 10:00:13

    Hello my family member! I want to say that this post is awesome, great written and include approximately all significant
    infos. I’d like to look more posts like this .

    amnio prime

    Like

    Reply

  13. Zymbiotic Weight Loss
    Jul 22, 2013 @ 04:22:13

    Very good blog! Do you have any tips and hints for aspiring writers?

    I’m planning to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for
    a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m completely confused .. Any ideas? Bless you!

    Like

    Reply

    • padmeandme
      Jul 22, 2013 @ 21:33:25

      i propose free to start. This blog is still free for me. I know sometime in the near future I’m going to have to upgrade to pay for more space and a dedicated web address ๐Ÿ™‚ Jan

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

