Ever Heard of the FODMAP Elim. Diet?

todaysdietitian0203_cover

The FODMAP elimination diet seems like it goes hand-in-hand with Specific Carbohydrate Diet protocol. It’s probably very obvious because of my last two posts that I am seeking relief from my IBS symptoms that are not fully under control even on a gluten-free, dairy-free diet.

The FODMAP theory holds that consuming foods high in FODMAPs results in increased volume of liquid and gas in the small and large intestine, resulting in distention and symptoms such as abdominal pain and gas and bloating. The theory proposes that following a low FODMAP diet should result in a decrease in digestive symptoms. The theory further holds that there is a cumulative effect of these foods on symptoms. In other words, eating foods with varying FODMAP values at the same time will add up, resulting in symptoms that you might not experience if you ate the food in isolation. This might explain the mixed results of studies that have evaluated the effects of fructose and lactose, two types of carbohydrates, on IBS. Ongoing research is being conducted as to the accuracy of the FODMAP theory and the effectiveness of the diet for IBS. Read More

If you are interested in following a low FODMAP diet, it is essential to work individually with a licensed nutritionist (See: Finding a FODMAP Dietician)

WebMD weighs in with their article on Finding the Right Diet for IBS
The goal is to find the most liberal and varied diet possible that still keeps symptoms under control. Most people find they can still include their favorite foods if they exercise care. For example, a person who discovers that fructans (found in wheat) cause a lot of distress might find they can’t tolerate wheat at every meal, but may be able to tolerate one portion of wheat without a problem.

Is FODMAP the right diet? Specific Carbohydrate Diet? Paleo Diet? Gluten-Free Diet? I just don’t know. I do know I’m reading a lot. Making the move to organic products, juicing, eating gluten free and attempting to move away from eating a lot of grains. I do know that stress plays a big role in digestive upsets and I’ve had enough stress this summer to last a lifetime and it’s not over. I am desperately looking for ways to not be so gassy that no one wants to be around me. I am so embarrassed by passing gas when I’m out in public, especially talking to an acquaintance or at the chiropractor’s office getting adjusted. I’m always apologizing. I’ve had enough. Looking for relief, constantly assessing if I should eat this or that and searching books and the internet for answers is causing it’s own stress. Hopefully in my quest to find answers, I can help those who reads my blog posts.

Several web sites I came across while researching the FODMAP diet. They seem VERY informative:
IBS Group
IBS Free
ibs at About.com
IBS Group/todaysdietitian – this article is not about FODMAPs but IBS in general. Good article:  Still a misunderstood disease and often treated as a psychological condition, IBS is a real condition that can be debilitating to a person’s life. IBS statistics are sobering: An estimated 35 million Americans have the disease. It ranks second only to the common cold as a cause of lost work time and accounts for approximately 3 million physician visits in the United States every year.1 The path to an accurate diagnosis of IBS is often a confusing, complex, and emotional process. However, family members, physicians, dietitians, and support groups can provide IBS sufferers instant information and relief. Read More…

I pray this information helps anyone suffering with IBS. I believe newly diagnosed IBSers and “old hats” can benefit from these articles and web sites.

Leave a Reply

