CORN: the evil grain (or so they say)


poster-1280-cornfield

Ripped from the October/November issue of Living Without magazine’s article titled, “Corn Fed”.

Here is a list of substitutions for corn products:

Baking corn-free can be a challenge because corn is hidden in some key ingredients. Try these corn-free alternatives.

  • Replace cornstarch with an equal amount of tapioca starch/flour or potato starch (NOT potato flour)
  • Replace corn flour with an equal amount of sorghum flour
  • Replace corn syrup with an equal amount of honey, agave* nectar, tapioca syrup or rice syrup.
  • Replace xanthan gum with an equal amount of guar gum
  • Baking Powder: Blend together 1/3 C baking soda, 2/3 C cream of tartar and 1/3 C arrowroot starch. For corn-free commercial baking powder, try Hain’s Featherweight Baking Powder (hainpurefood.com), made with potato starch.
  • Confectioners’ Sugar: Combine 1 1/2 T tapioca starch/flour or potato starch with enough granulated sugar to make 1 C. Process mixture in a blender on high speed for 45 seconds or until powdered. Store in an airtight container until used.

* Agave: With an obscenely high amount of fructose (more than regular sugar), and the extensive refining process it goes through to become what it is, this is not a good option to replace sugar.

Advertisements

DID YOU KNOW? – things I wish I didn’t know about whats in our food


tree perch_2644

White vinegar or just plain vinegar is typically distilled, and if so, are gluten-free.
Distilled vinegar can be distilled from wheat, corn, potatoes, beets, wood, apples, and many other things. Most in the U.S. are not made from wheat, but are instead made from corn, potatoes or wood, which are all CGCF safe. (Heinz white vinegar is distilled from corn). Distilled vinegar made from wood is gluten-free.

Wood-based vinegar is often the vinegar used in processed foods.
(Oh, wonderful–another reason to buy processed foods!)

Flavored vinegars are made with white distilled vinegar, to which favorings are then added.
They may not be gluten-free.

Malted vinegars are usually not gluten-free.

Red and white wine and balsamic vinegars are gluten free.

I buy Bragg Apple Cider Vinegar  http://bragg.com/products/bragg-organic-apple-cider-vinegar.html

NEXT

Most all commercially available gelatins, including Knox powder and Jell-o are made from beef
(who knew!). There are many foods that also contain beef-derived gelatin such as marshmallows and vitamin capsules!

NEXT

Powdered sugar contains corn starch 😦

Canola oil is used in biofuel product 🙂

%d bloggers like this: