DID YOU KNOW? – things I wish I didn’t know about whats in our food

tree perch_2644

White vinegar or just plain vinegar is typically distilled, and if so, are gluten-free.
Distilled vinegar can be distilled from wheat, corn, potatoes, beets, wood, apples, and many other things. Most in the U.S. are not made from wheat, but are instead made from corn, potatoes or wood, which are all CGCF safe. (Heinz white vinegar is distilled from corn). Distilled vinegar made from wood is gluten-free.

Wood-based vinegar is often the vinegar used in processed foods.
(Oh, wonderful–another reason to buy processed foods!)

Flavored vinegars are made with white distilled vinegar, to which favorings are then added.
They may not be gluten-free.

Malted vinegars are usually not gluten-free.

Red and white wine and balsamic vinegars are gluten free.

I buy Bragg Apple Cider Vinegar  http://bragg.com/products/bragg-organic-apple-cider-vinegar.html

NEXT

Most all commercially available gelatins, including Knox powder and Jell-o are made from beef
(who knew!). There are many foods that also contain beef-derived gelatin such as marshmallows and vitamin capsules!

NEXT

Powdered sugar contains corn starch 😦

Canola oil is used in biofuel product 🙂

Advertisements

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Molly
    Oct 02, 2013 @ 20:46:08

    I mean, I don’t really LIKE it…but I like that you put the info together. I also hate knowing that most refined sugar is filtered through charred animal bones…urgh!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: