CORN: the evil grain (or so they say)


poster-1280-cornfield

Ripped from the October/November issue of Living Without magazine’s article titled, “Corn Fed”.

Here is a list of substitutions for corn products:

Baking corn-free can be a challenge because corn is hidden in some key ingredients. Try these corn-free alternatives.

  • Replace cornstarch with an equal amount of tapioca starch/flour or potato starch (NOT potato flour)
  • Replace corn flour with an equal amount of sorghum flour
  • Replace corn syrup with an equal amount of honey, agave* nectar, tapioca syrup or rice syrup.
  • Replace xanthan gum with an equal amount of guar gum
  • Baking Powder: Blend together 1/3 C baking soda, 2/3 C cream of tartar and 1/3 C arrowroot starch. For corn-free commercial baking powder, try Hain’s Featherweight Baking Powder (hainpurefood.com), made with potato starch.
  • Confectioners’ Sugar: Combine 1 1/2 T tapioca starch/flour or potato starch with enough granulated sugar to make 1 C. Process mixture in a blender on high speed for 45 seconds or until powdered. Store in an airtight container until used.

* Agave: With an obscenely high amount of fructose (more than regular sugar), and the extensive refining process it goes through to become what it is, this is not a good option to replace sugar.

Advertisements

DID YOU KNOW? – things I wish I didn’t know about whats in our food


tree perch_2644

White vinegar or just plain vinegar is typically distilled, and if so, are gluten-free.
Distilled vinegar can be distilled from wheat, corn, potatoes, beets, wood, apples, and many other things. Most in the U.S. are not made from wheat, but are instead made from corn, potatoes or wood, which are all CGCF safe. (Heinz white vinegar is distilled from corn). Distilled vinegar made from wood is gluten-free.

Wood-based vinegar is often the vinegar used in processed foods.
(Oh, wonderful–another reason to buy processed foods!)

Flavored vinegars are made with white distilled vinegar, to which favorings are then added.
They may not be gluten-free.

Malted vinegars are usually not gluten-free.

Red and white wine and balsamic vinegars are gluten free.

I buy Bragg Apple Cider Vinegar  http://bragg.com/products/bragg-organic-apple-cider-vinegar.html

NEXT

Most all commercially available gelatins, including Knox powder and Jell-o are made from beef
(who knew!). There are many foods that also contain beef-derived gelatin such as marshmallows and vitamin capsules!

NEXT

Powdered sugar contains corn starch 😦

Canola oil is used in biofuel product 🙂

Mixed Bag: Update, GMOs, apps…


Tell me again, how beautiful I am :)

Tell me again, how beautiful I am 🙂

Sorry I’ve been so silent in posting. My husband lost his job and we are living with my son–Thank you, Ted & Dana!
I’ve been trying to organize recipes and GF baking substitutions which include milk, butter, eggs, sugar and GF flour mixes. There is soooo much information out there and I’ve decided to pull it all together in one wonderful place for you to use as a reference.
What’s funny, as I’ve used this blog as my own reference. Especially looking back at the apps I reviewed earlier. I have an opinion on those apps: pay as little as possible for a GMO/GF app. You won’t use it much after you have chosen your favorite products and know where to find them.

There is a new app tho. It’s SHOPNOGMO iTunes. And, here’s a shopping guide ShopNoGMO. Its a big help choosing non-GMO products. Fooducate also finds GMOs in products and that app will alert you when you walk into stores you’ve chosen. NOTE: the app has to be open to work. I wondered why it didn’t alert me the other day. That’s why!

I learned another thing the other day. ORGANIC products can be grown from GMO seeds 😦 and pesticides can be used on non-GMO products. So it seems to me, you need to find products that are organic and non-GMO to cover all your bases.

Boars Head produces turkey lunchmeat that is ALL NATURAL. I haven’t found it yet in my area. I’m thinking it’ll be at Whole Foods, but there isn’t one near me and the local FRESH MARKET doesn’t have Boars Head. I’m also afraid it will be $15-20 per pound 😦 Some day, organic/non-GMO products will be the norm instead of the exception.

Have an outrageously awesome day 🙂

testing for celiac disease…


normandy 0 honor mntn

Did you know that…

It is important that people being checked for coeliac disease need to still be eating gluten in their diet. If they cut gluten out of their diet (eg. trial a gluten free diet) before being properly diagnosed, they can reduce their chances of being diagnosed, as the villi/lining can start to repair. If the camera is then inserted to take the samples for biopsy, but the person has already started the diet, the biopsies might show to be normal – but this may not be an accurate result – it could be false as it may be repaired.  Therefore, all people who look suspicious for coeliac disease (eg. have symptoms, etc) should still be eating gluten whilst being investigated by their doctor(s).

GI care 4 kidsAll people diagnosed with coeliac disease are encouraged to join an association or society or support group. A couple I found are: Coeliac Sprue Association or Academy of Nutrition & Dietetics, GI Care for Kids, to name a few. They are a valuable source of support and new food product information. Members receive a quarterly magazine, handbook and ingredients book. Events such as cooking demonstrations, group dietitian sessions, children’s camps, and social evenings are regularly offered. As information about the gluten-free diet can change over time, maintaining membership of the Coeliac Society should be for the long-term, to ensure ongoing access to up-to-date information.

The above information came from the shepherdworks.com website. There’s a LOT more information there to read.

making nut flours


I just read in Gluten-Free Baking by Rebecca Reilly: “when grinding nuts into nut flour, you may need to add a LITTLE SUGAR to keep from making a nut butter.

What next? Genetically Engineered SALMON :(


ImageCan you believe it? I received an email last night encouraging everyone to contact Kroger (the largest food chain in the states) to not buy genetically-engineered fish. They have said they will not unless the FDA approves it–then all bets are off.

This article entitled “The Threats and benefits of GM fish” from the government should give you a start on learning about this frightening possibility.

The sad thing about all of this (no not sad, terrifying) is that if the FDA approves genetically engineered fish, no one has to provide this information on their nutrition label! Yep, that’s right, we won’t know!

I need to do more research and will keep my blog updated. Oh, man…what’s next?

Did You Know — do you care :) #3


grapefruitupdated: June 11.2013

 

 

1. New research has found that the number of drugs that interact badly with grapefruit juice—including some common blood pressure and cholesterol-lowering meds—has more than doubled since 2008 thanks to new drug formulations.
“Taking 1 tablet of certain medicines with a glass of grapefruit juice can be like taking 5 tables with water” says lead researcher David Bailey.
Ripped from the April 2013 Reader’s Digest article, “The fruit that meddles with med”.  David Bailey is a pharmacologist at the Lawson Health Research Institute in London, Ontario.

 

Did You Know — do you care :) #2


iris close up_3230Updated: 6/9/13

1. Did your potato chips run immediately following a run of gluten-containing food? I never would have thought of that!

2. FOR BEGINNERS: The Gluten Intolerance Group of N.A. (GIG) is an excellent resource providing information, education
and a variety of programs that support those with gluten intolerance. GIG has a useful stepwise program available on their website — www.gluten.net.

3. Have you ever heard of BONE SOUP? You cook down bones (chicken or whatever) and the broth you make is highly
nutritious and easily absorbable.

4. If there is one way to strengthen a cold–give it OJ and sugar. It will surely stay for weeks instead of days!

5. IBS is the second leading cause of worker absenteeism; 2nd only to the common cold.

6. One of the most important supplements you can take is a probiotic —Dr. Mercola (these are his own products) —mercola.com.

7. The pasteurized versions of “probiotic” yogurts in grocery stores—since they are pasteurized—they will be associated with all the problems of pasteurized milk products. They contain added sugars, high fructose corn syrup, dyes and artificial sweeteners.

8. Neurons in the gut manufacture most of the serotonin in a healthy body—not the head!

9. Over-farming, excessive application of pesticides and insecticides; and the use of genetically modified seeds often create more allergenic and less nutrient-dense foods.

Did You Know — do you care :)


updated: June 8, 2013

iris close up_3230

The following is a list that I will continually add items to over time.

1. Basamati rice has the lowest glycemic index of rice

2. Bananas. You can slow down how fast they ripen by covering the end where the bananas are connected with plastic wrap. Totally cover the end and make sure as little air as possible gets to the ends. It REALLY works!

3. If you add acid — tomatoes, vinegar, citrus — while cooking beans, it’ll take forever for them to cook. AND    Salt at the end, just before serving. Beans will turn into rocks and never soften if you salt early. Trust me on this one.

GF rice krispies4.  Kellogg’s Rice Krispies in the traditional blue box contains GLUTEN 😦  The malt flavoring is derived from barley. The good news: They have a YELLOW box that is gluten free. Yeah! I can have rice krispie treats without getting glutened!
I must say I’m having trouble finding gluten free Rice Krispies. I called Kellogg’s and they told me who actually carries their product where I live. You also can call 1-800-962-1413.  The ONLY place where I live that carries the GF Rice Krispies is Rite-Aid. Color me surprised. I fully intend to call my favorite local grocery chain and ask them to carry it also. If you want to do this, I was given the package # 3800055019 to make it easier to order. ENJOY!

5.  Sugar usually comes from can, and cane is a form of grass, which is related to wheat 😦playdoh

6.  In a nutshell, celiac is simply a reaction to a food. Oh really! How many of you have had any reactions to foods!!!!!

7. SHOCKER: Play-Doh contains wheat!

8.  If a recipe calls for a small amount of vegetables, pick some up at the supermarket salad bar–it’s cheaper than buying a whole package!

9. White vinegar is usually made from a gluten grain, BUT if it is distilled, the gluten is removed.

10. Malt vinegar is NOT distilled and is NOT gluten free.

If anyone has obscure facts to add to this list, please let me know 🙂

More info on Vinegar than you ever wanted to read!


oil_vinegar-lose-weightI saw a post the other day on Facebook and they were talking about what kind of vinegar to use in a particular recipe. I, of course, gave my 2 cents and didn’t think about it again until today. I have accumulated a LOT of recipes and “how to’s” over the years and I stumbled upon the following. Don’t worry, I didn’t hurt myself when I stumbled on the vinegar article 🙂

Vinegar Variety

Not very long ago it seemed there were no more than two kinds of vinegar: white and cider. For better or worse, the subject of vinegar has become more complex and therefore much more interesting.

Vinegars vary in strength of acidity: most are 5%. This measurement is usually listed on the label. If higher than 5%, use less vinegar than the amount called for in the recipe, tasting the dressing and adjusting for flavor.

Distilled white vinegar lacks the distinctive flavor of other vinegars. It is more often the choice for pickling than for making salad dressings. Hmmm, I use it to clean my kitchen sink.

Apple cider vinegar has a pungent flavor and is a good choice for dressing a salad including tomatoes.

Malt vinegar, with its assertive nutlike flavor and caramel color, is favored by lovers of fish and chips and can also be used in salads when a bold flavor is desired. Ahhh, this is the kind of vinegar Long John Silver’s offers 🙂

Wine vinegars (white, red, or even rose) are a good all-purpose choice for salad-making. In general, use white wine vinegar in a mayonnaise, red in a vinaigrette. Recently some elegant vinegars, much esteemed in nouvelle cuisine salads, have been arriving from France. They are costly but often exquisite. Look for Champaign vinegar, or white wine vinegars infused with such fruits as raspberries, blueberries, cherries, and strawberries.

Sherry wine vinegar boasts a bold, nut-like flavor. Its acidity may be as great at 7 percent, so it can be used with a light hand.

Herb vinegars are usually an infusion of herbs in white wine vinegar. Most familiar is tarragon wine vinegar, but you may also come upon such ready-made flavors as thyme, garlic, shallot, sage and oregano–or combinations.

Balsamic vinegar comes from Modena, Italy, and is aged in wooden barrels. This process gives it a rich, dark color and a heady flavor. It is more intense and complex than most vinegars and also somewhat higher in acidity (at least 6 percent).

Previous Older Entries

%d bloggers like this: