DID YOU KNOW? – things I wish I didn’t know about whats in our food


tree perch_2644

White vinegar or just plain vinegar is typically distilled, and if so, are gluten-free.
Distilled vinegar can be distilled from wheat, corn, potatoes, beets, wood, apples, and many other things. Most in the U.S. are not made from wheat, but are instead made from corn, potatoes or wood, which are all CGCF safe. (Heinz white vinegar is distilled from corn). Distilled vinegar made from wood is gluten-free.

Wood-based vinegar is often the vinegar used in processed foods.
(Oh, wonderful–another reason to buy processed foods!)

Flavored vinegars are made with white distilled vinegar, to which favorings are then added.
They may not be gluten-free.

Malted vinegars are usually not gluten-free.

Red and white wine and balsamic vinegars are gluten free.

I buy Bragg Apple Cider Vinegarย  http://bragg.com/products/bragg-organic-apple-cider-vinegar.html

NEXT

Most all commercially available gelatins, including Knox powder and Jell-o are made from beef
(who knew!). There are many foods that also contain beef-derived gelatin such as marshmallows and vitamin capsules!

NEXT

Powdered sugar contains corn starch ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Canola oil is used in biofuel product ๐Ÿ™‚

More info on Vinegar than you ever wanted to read!


oil_vinegar-lose-weightI saw a post the other day on Facebook and they were talking about what kind of vinegar to use in a particular recipe. I, of course, gave my 2 cents and didn’t think about it again until today. I have accumulated a LOT of recipes and “how to’s” over the years and I stumbled upon the following. Don’t worry, I didn’t hurt myself when I stumbled on the vinegar article ๐Ÿ™‚

Vinegar Variety

Not very long ago it seemed there were no more than two kinds of vinegar: white and cider. For better or worse, the subject of vinegar has become more complex and therefore much more interesting.

Vinegars vary in strength of acidity: most are 5%. This measurement is usually listed on the label. If higher than 5%, use less vinegar than the amount called for in the recipe, tasting the dressing and adjusting for flavor.

Distilled white vinegar lacks the distinctive flavor of other vinegars. It is more often the choice for pickling than for making salad dressings. Hmmm, I use it to clean my kitchen sink.

Apple cider vinegar has a pungent flavor and is a good choice for dressing a salad including tomatoes.

Malt vinegar, with its assertive nutlike flavor and caramel color, is favored by lovers of fish and chips and can also be used in salads when a bold flavor is desired. Ahhh, this is the kind of vinegar Long John Silver’s offers ๐Ÿ™‚

Wine vinegars (white, red, or even rose) are a good all-purpose choice for salad-making. In general, use white wine vinegar in a mayonnaise, red in a vinaigrette. Recently some elegant vinegars, much esteemed in nouvelle cuisine salads, have been arriving from France. They are costly but often exquisite. Look for Champaign vinegar, or white wine vinegars infused with such fruits as raspberries, blueberries, cherries, and strawberries.

Sherry wine vinegar boasts a bold, nut-like flavor. Its acidity may be as great at 7 percent, so it can be used with a light hand.

Herb vinegars are usually an infusion of herbs in white wine vinegar. Most familiar is tarragon wine vinegar, but you may also come upon such ready-made flavors as thyme, garlic, shallot, sage and oregano–or combinations.

Balsamic vinegar comes from Modena, Italy, and is aged in wooden barrels. This process gives it a rich, dark color and a heady flavor. It is more intense and complex than most vinegars and also somewhat higher in acidity (at least 6 percent).

%d bloggers like this: